# **KIRKLEES COUNCIL**

# **MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2016/17**

	Page
Proportional Committees/Panels	
Appeals Panel	2
Employee Relations Sub-Committee	3
Licensing and Safety Committee	4
Personnel Committee	5
Planning Sub-Committee (Heavy Woollen Area)	6
Planning Sub-Committee (Huddersfield Area)	7
Policy Committee	8
Standards Committee	9
Strategic Planning Committee	10
Substitutes Panel	11
Non-Proportional Committees/Panels	
Corporate Governance and Audit Committee	12
District Committee - Batley and Spen	13
District Committee –Dewsbury and Mirfield	14
District Committee – Huddersfield	15
District Committee – Kirklees Rural	16
Health and Wellbeing Board	17
Non Proportional Committees/Panels (Overview and Scrutiny)	
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	18
Ad Hoc Scrutiny Panel – Children's Services	19
Ad Hoc Scrutiny Panel – Review of Adult Mental Health Assessments	19
Calderdale and Kirklees Joint Health Scrutiny Committee	19
Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Yorkshire and Humber)	20
Scrutiny Panel – Health and Social Care	20
Wakefield and Kirklees Joint Health Scrutiny Committee	20
West Yorkshire Joint Health Scrutiny Committee	20

# **APPEALS PANEL**

LABOUR (7)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)
G Asif J Hughes M Hussain G Lowe M Kaushik A U Pinnock H Richards	B Armer* V Lees-Hamilton B McGuin G Wilson	C Iredale N Turner	A Cooper

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# **EMPLOYEE RELATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE**

Members 9

LABOUR (4)	CONSERVATIVE (3)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)
J Calvert	M Bolt	N Turner	A Cooper

N Mather D Hall
M O'Neill L Holmes
S Pandor\*

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

Members 14

LABOUR (7)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN AND
			INDEPENDENT
			GROUP (1)

M Akhtar M Grainger-Mead R Eastwood K Allison G Asif R Light C Iredale J Homewood K Taylor M Kaushik M Watson

M Kaushik A U Pinnock\* M Sokhal A Stubley

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Members 9

LABOUR (4)	CONSERVATIVE (3)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)

N Turner

T Lyons

J Calvert M Bolt
N Mather D Hall
M O'Neill N Patrick

S Pandor\*

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HEAVY WOOLLEN AREA)

LABOUR (7)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)
M Akhtar N Dad F Fadia P Kane* M Pervaiz M O Neill A Stubley	M Grainger-Mead D Bellamy R Smith K Taylor	J Lawson A Pinnock	Vacancy

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HUDDERSFIELD AREA)

Members 15

LABOUR (8)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN AND
			INDEPENDENT
			GROUP(1)

J Calvert D Bellamy
J Homewood D Firth
M Kaushik B McGuin
M Khan K Sims

M Khan M Sarwar M Sokhal S Ullah R Walker L Wilkinson

T Lyons\*

C Iredale

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# **POLICY COMMITTEE**

Members 10

LABOUR (5)	CONSERVATIVE (3)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)
F Fadia J Homewood H Richards S Ullah	D Hall R Light J Taylor	J Lawson	A Cooper

R Walker\*

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

Members 5

LABOUR (3) CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (-)

E Firth S Pandor M Sokhal N Patrick\*

A Marchington

\* Chair

#### STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE

Members 6

LABOUR (3) CONSERVATIVE (2) LIB DEM (1) GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (-)

P Kane C Pattison M Sokhal\* B Armer D Firth A Pinnock

\* Chair

# **SUBSTITUTES PANEL 2016/17**

LABOUR (6)	CONSERVATIVE (6)	LIB DEM (4)	GREEN PARTY AND INDEPENDENTS GROUP (4)
G Asif	B Armer	R Eastwood	K Allison
F Fadia	D Bellamy	J Lawson	A Cooper
E Firth	L Holmes	A Marchington	C Greaves
C Scott	K Sims	L Wilkinson	T Lyons
M Sokhal	B McGuin		•
S Ullah	N Patrick		

#### CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE

Members 7 (Non-proportional)

(Two from each of the three largest groups and one from the minority group (excluding group leaders), plus ex officio (non-voting) Members, namely Cabinet Portfolio holders for Resources; Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee; and Chair of Standards Committee and provision for Treasury Management expertise)

LABOUR (2)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)
G Asif	J Taylor	K Pinnock	J Stewart-Turner
H Richards*	A Palfreeman	L Wilkinson	

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **Ex-Officio**

Resources Cabinet Portfolio Holder/s (Cllr )
Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee (Cllr Stewart Turner)
Chair of Standards Committee (Cllr Patrick)

# **DISTRICT COMMITTEE - BATLEY AND SPEN**

LABOUR (9)	CONSERVATIVE (6)	LIB DEM (3)
M Akhtar F Fadia S Hall V Kendrick G Lowe* M O'Neill S Pandor D Sheard A Stubley	M Grainger-Mead D Hall L Holmes R Light A Palfreeman E Smaje	J Lawson A Pinnock K Pinnock

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# **DISTRICT COMMITTEE - DEWSBURY AND MIRFIELD**

#### Members 12

# LABOUR (9) CONSERVATIVE (3)

M Ahmed M Bolt

G Asif V Lees - Hamilton

N Dad\* K Taylor

E Firth M Hussain P Kane

D O'Donovan M Pervaiz C Scott

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# **DISTRICT COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD**

LABOUR (13)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (3)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (3)
J Calvert E Hill J Hughes J Homewood M Kaushik M Khan N Mather P McBride C Pattison A Pinnock M Sarwar M Sokhal S Ullah*	B McGuin G Wilson	C Burke R Eastwood L Wilkinson	K Allison A Cooper J Stewart-Turner

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# **DISTRICT COMMITTEE - KIRKLEES RURAL**

LABOUR (3)	CONSERVATIVE (9)	LIB DEM (3)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (2)
H Richards G Turner R Walker	B Armer D Bellamy J Dodds D Firth N Patrick	C Iredale A Marchington N Turner	C Greaves T Lyons
	K Sims		INDEPENDENT (1)
	J Taylor M Watson* J Smith		E Holroyd-Doveton

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD (MEMBERSHIP SUBJECT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND CABINET)

Members 5 (Non-Proportional)

(3 from Cabinet, one of whom may be the Leader; 1 Senior Councillor from the main opposition group; and 1 Councillor from a political group other than the administration and main opposition group; plus 1 Councillor observer from a political group not otherwise represented) together with external/partner/officer representatives specified in the agreed constitution.

LABOUR (3)	CONSERVATIVE (1)	LIB DEM (1)
N Mather C Pattison S Pandor	D Bellamy	K Pinnock
* Chair		

**OBSERVER**: GREEN AND INDEPENDENTS (1)

Vacancy

Conservative Group Named Substitute: Councillor Smith Liberal Democrat Group Named Substitute: Councillor Marchington

# **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE**

Members 4 (Non-proportional)

LABOUR (1)	CONSERVATIVE (1)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN AND INDEPENDENT GROUP (1)
G Asif	K Sims	C Burke	J Stewart-Turner*

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### AD HOC SCRUTINY PANEL - CHILDREN'S SERVICES

Members 4 (Non-Proportional)

LABOUR (1) CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (1) **GREEN AND INDEPENDENT** GROUP (1)

AU Pinnock R Light A Marchington J Stewart-Turner\*

#### AD HOC SCRUTINY PANEL - REVIEW OF ADULT MENTAL HEALTH **ASSESSMENTS**

Members 4 (Non-Proportional)

CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN AND INDEPENDENT LABOUR (1) **GROUP (1 gifted to Labour Gp)** 

P Kane E Smaje\* J Lawson

M Khan

#### **CALDERDALE & KIRKLEES JOINT HEALTH SCRUTINY COMMITTEE**

Members 4 (Non-Proportional)

LABOUR (1) CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (1) **GREEN AND INDEPENDENT** GROUP (1)

V Kendrick E Smaje A Marchington J Stewart-Turner

#### JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (YORKSHIRE & HUMBER)

Members 1 (Non-Proportional – One place allocated to Kirklees)

Councillor E Smaje

#### **SCRUTINY PANEL - HEALTH & SOCIAL CARE**

Members 6 (Non-Proportional)

LABOUR (3) CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN AND INDEPENDENT

GROUP (1)

F Fadia

E Smaje\*

A Marchington Va

Vacancy

S Hall S Ullah

#### WAKEFIELD AND KIRKLEES JOINT HEALTH SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Members 4 (Non-Proportional)

LABOUR (1) CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN AND INDEPENDENT

GROUP (1)

E Firth E Smaje J Lawson J Stewart-Turner

#### WEST YORKSHIRE JOINT HEALTH SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Members 2 (Non-Proportional)

LABOUR (1) CONSERVATIVE (1)

V Kendrick E Smaje